XCSO logo

XCSO Community Update

Join XCSO in a Community Update on Monday, October 18th at 8pm.


  1. XCSO Workshop and Apply It Day
  2. District Development Coordinators Programming/Plans update
  3. Ontario Team Programming for 2021/2022
  4. Competition calendar
  5. Return to Sport Protocols

XCSO is inviting you to a scheduled Zoom meeting.

Topic: Community Update
Time: Oct 18, 2021 08:00 PM Eastern Time (US and Canada)

Join Zoom Meeting

Meeting ID: 892 1078 4657
One tap mobile
+13462487799,,89210784657# US (Houston)
+16465588656,,89210784657# US (New York)

Dial by your location
+1 346 248 7799 US (Houston)
+1 646 558 8656 US (New York)
+1 669 900 9128 US (San Jose)
+1 253 215 8782 US (Tacoma)
+1 301 715 8592 US (Washington DC)
+1 312 626 6799 US (Chicago)
Meeting ID: 892 1078 4657
Find your local number: https://us02web.zoom.us/u/kbqX1Hn3lU



2021/2022 Ontario Cup Bid Package

Another season is upon us and we are hoping to offer our Ontario Cup series in 2021/2022 – COVID restrictions and travel restrictions permitting.  Deadline for bid submissions is September 6th.  Bid document HERE.

Coupe Skinouk Rollerski race – Sept 18/19, 2021

After a one-season hiatus because of COVID-19 in 2020, the Coupe Skinouk Rollerski will be back this year. The information regarding the event has not all been finalized but Club Skinouk suggests that you reserve the dates of September 18 and 19, 2021 in your calendar in order to participate or to encourage people around you to participate. You can be also a volunteer!

Nordiq Canada/FIS Racing License Renewal

FIS and Nordiq Canada race licenses must be active for athletes to retain their points on both the FIS points and Canada Point lists this season even if athletes are unable to attend an FIS or Nordiq Canada sanctioned competitions. The points systems will recognize active (paid for 2020/2021) race licenses only.  If the license is not renewed, an athlete’s points from 2019-2020 will be dropped and will not be included in the monthly list updates going forward.

Not renewing your NC license will have implications next season for race seeding, so we encourage athletes and coaches to discuss what is best for them.   For XCSO purposes, an active Nordiq Canada race license will not be an eligibility requirement for XCSO programming for the 2021-2022 season (next dryland season)

XCSO logo


XCSO is excited to announce our 2020-2021 COVID Challenges!  COVID cannot beat down the spirit of our clubs and their members.  Please JOIN US in working towards challenges and races which WE CAN DO.  More information is here

XCSO logo

2021 Ontario Cups & Youth Championships CANCELLED

Cross Country Ski Ontario has made the difficult decision to cancel our 2021 Ontario Cup Series and Youth Championships due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic and uncertainty regarding travel restrictions.  We know our community will be both disappointed and understanding given the gravity of our current situation with respect to the pandemic.  We are working towards ‘stay at home’ racing and skiing challenges for our clubs & teams to engage with fun and enthusiasm.  Our sport is well positioned given it’s outdoor nature and our strong protocols in place to guide competition and participation.

Here is a snapshot of our plans.  XCSO will be reaching out through staff, our Board and Committees to engage clubs and teams in making the 2020/2021 season a memorable one based on what WE CAN DO.


Goal: Get all clubs/teams engaged in competition weekends throughout the winter in lieu of OCUPs and Youth Champs. A place for clubs to focus on the PROCESS of racing and a race weekend.

Kilometre Challenge

Goal: Engage everyone in the club to record their km and ski as much as possible over the course of the season

Strava Challenge

Goal: Engage the ski community in a challenge to work on speed in both sprint (or short) and distance. Clubs will provide a sprint course and a distance course and people will challenge themselves over the winter.

Stay tuned for more details.



Candy Cane Cup Sanctioning Status Update

The Candy Cane Cup will no longer be a FIS/Nordiq Canada/XCSO/SFQ sanctioned event. The organizing committee is looking at options for offering a local event.  Decision to be communicated on or before November 25th.  Keep up to date here.

XCSO logo

Ontario and Quebec Tier-2 Wax Protocol

SFQ-XCSO Waxing Protocol for 2020-21

SFQ-XCSO Approved Wax List for 2020-21.

Please contact Victor Wiltmann – XCSO  or Francois Pepin – SFQ if you have questions and/or requests for additions to the wax list.

Candy Cane Cup Update – Clarification

Because of the continued COVID-19 red alert status in the Outaouais region, the Candy Cane Cup at Nakkertok is currently in No Go status and a final decision regarding a sanctioned event will be made on or before November 11th.  Keep up to date here.

Ontario Cup logo

Event Decision Making Framework for OCups during COVID-19

An Event Decision Making Framework, in consultation with Local Organizing Committees, has been established to:

  • Provide a consistent decision making framework with respect to registration opening/closing, refund and decision points
  • Allows clubs/teams to understand how decisions regarding OCups will be made
  • Guide Zone4 registrations and race notices to reflect dates etc

Please note: Timelines may shift slightly should that be necessary throughout the season (ie if teams are negatively impacted by hotel cancellation date deadlines)